Monitor Light Bars and Eye Strain: What Actually Helps (2026)
Monitor Light Bars

Monitor Light Bars and Eye Strain: What Actually Helps (2026)

Lux, coverage, CRI, flicker, power and mounting specs explained — how to read and compare monitor light bar numbers from all the major brands before you buy.

18 min read

Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

Every monitor light bar is described by the same short list of numbers — centre illuminance, coverage, colour temperature, CRI, power draw, mounting range. Those figures are the only consistent way to compare two models, and the practical answer to a search for a monitor light bar for eye strain starts with them.

Most roundups flatten the whole subject into one idea: a bar that is glare-free and adjustable must be the better one. The published specifications do not support that shortcut. A lux figure means nothing without the distance it was measured at. A coverage number describes a footprint, not a brightness. CRI and colour temperature measure unrelated things. A connector shape says nothing about how much power a lamp draws. And "automatic" describes two separate features that only some models carry.

This guide works through each specification in turn — what it measures, how to read it, and which current models illustrate it — using published figures from BenQ, Xiaomi, Quntis, Baseus and LYMAX. Where light bars and desk lamps overlap, the difference usually sits in the mounting and the optical design rather than in the light itself.

It is written for anyone comparing light bars as part of a desk build — a thin modern panel, a curved ultrawide, a pair of displays — and for anyone who has tried to work out whether 1,800 lux beats 1,000 lux and found that the answer depends on a number the marketing left out.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick reference — how to read a light bar spec sheet

Specification What it actually measures Why it changes the decision
Centre illuminance (lux) Light arriving on a surface at a stated distance Only comparable when the distance travels with the figure
Lumens Total output of the source Says nothing about distribution or reach
Coverage at ≥ 500 lux The desk footprint receiving that level of illumination Sets how far the light reaches across the work surface
CRI (Ra / Rf) How accurately the source renders colour Matters for colour-critical work, not for typing
Colour temperature (K) Warm-to-cool tint of the light Stepped vs stepless range is a control decision
Optical cut-off angle Beam shielding built into the optics Distinct from the lamp's physical rotation range
Ambient auto-dimming Output adjusted to surrounding room light Different feature from presence sensing
Presence sensing Auto on/off when someone approaches or leaves Different feature from ambient dimming
Power (V / A / W) Electrical draw and connector standard Determines whether a monitor USB port can supply it
Monitor thickness / curvature Physical fit range of the clip Determines whether the bar mounts at all

Lumens vs lux — what a light bar actually illuminates

A light bar's headline figure can be written in lumens or in lux, and the two describe different things. Lumens measure the total light a source emits. Lux measures how much of that light arrives on a square metre of surface at a specific distance. A lumens figure describes the lamp in isolation; a lux figure describes the light where it lands — which is what falls on a keyboard, a notebook or a desk mat.

Xiaomi publishes its Mi Computer Monitor Light Bar at 270 lumens at 3900 K. Baseus publishes the i-Wok2 at 160 lumens. Neither is a desk-illumination number; both are source-output numbers. BenQ takes the other route and publishes centre illuminance in lux at a fixed height: 930 lux at 45 cm for the original ScreenBar and the Plus, 800 lux at 45 cm for the first Halo, and more than 1,000 lux at 50 cm for the Pro and the Halo 2.

The consequence is that a lumens figure and a lux figure cannot sit side by side. 270 lumens tells you how much the Xiaomi bar emits; 930 lux at 45 cm tells you how much light reaches the desk surface under a ScreenBar. To compare, the unit has to match and so does the method — and even then, the distance has to match too.

Check price on Amazon

Why published lux figures cannot be ranked raw

The phrase "brightest monitor light bar" is doing something the numbers do not support. Lux is measured at a distance, and the distance differs between models — and between generations of the same family.

BenQ's older generation — the original ScreenBar, the ScreenBar Plus and the first ScreenBar Halo — is published at 45 cm. The current Pro and Halo 2 are published at 50 cm. The ScreenBar Max measures further out again, at 71 cm. Quntis lists the Focus 51 PRO+ at 1,200 lux and LYMAX lists the ScreenMate M6 at up to 1,800 lux, and neither attaches a measurement distance to the figure.

Model Published centre illuminance Coverage at ≥ 500 lux
BenQ ScreenBar 930 lux at 45 cm 60 × 30 cm
BenQ ScreenBar Plus 930 lux at 45 cm 60 × 30 cm
BenQ ScreenBar Halo 800 lux at 45 cm 63 × 40 cm
BenQ ScreenBar Pro > 1,000 lux at 50 cm 85 × 50 cm
BenQ ScreenBar Halo 2 > 1,000 lux at 50 cm 85 × 50 cm
BenQ ScreenBar Max 1,400 lux at 71 cm 135 × 58 cm
Xiaomi Mi Computer Monitor Light Bar 270 lm (no lux figure stated) Not stated
Quntis Focus 51 PRO+ (F51BK) 1,200 lux (distance not stated) Not stated
Baseus i-Wok2 (DGIW000101) 160 lm (no lux figure stated) Not stated
LYMAX ScreenMate M6 Up to 1,800 lux (distance not stated) Not stated

That makes 1,800 lux and 1,000 lux non-comparable as written. A figure taken at 45 cm and a figure taken at 71 cm describe light at different points along its spread, and a figure with no distance attached cannot be ranked against either. The point is not that one bar is brighter — it is that the number only becomes useful once the distance travels with it. Any ranking that strips the distance is describing something other than the product.

Coverage at 500 lux — the spec that sets desk reach

Where lux tells you intensity, the coverage figure tells you reach: the desk footprint that receives a given level of light. BenQ publishes this as an area meeting or exceeding 500 lux, and the spread across the range is wide.

  • Original ScreenBar and ScreenBar Plus: 60 × 30 cm
  • First-generation ScreenBar Halo: 63 × 40 cm
  • ScreenBar Pro and Halo 2: 85 × 50 cm
  • ScreenBar Max: 135 × 58 cm at 500 lux in the main specification table; a separate manufacturer FAQ describes 135 × 75 cm reaching up to 500 lux under a stated configuration, and 170 × 85 cm at up to 300 lux

For a desk with a keyboard and mouse only, 60 × 30 cm can be enough. Once notebooks, a physical planner or a drawing surface join the setup, the wider footprints start to matter, because a narrower one leaves the outer edges of the work surface unlit. Coverage is still a footprint and not a brightness: two bars with the same coverage figure can differ in how much light they put into that area, and a large footprint at lower intensity is not automatically the better match. On a desk that doubles as a gaming station, coverage is also what decides whether task light reaches past the keyboard into the input zone — the gaming desk setup guide covers how task and ambient light layer together.

Check price on Amazon

CRI and colour temperature are independent specs

These two are routinely presented as one. They are not related.

Colour temperature, measured in Kelvin, describes the tint of the light — how warm or cool it reads. Bars in this category typically span 2700 K to 6500 K, from a warm amber-white to a cool daylight-white. Models differ in how you move through that range: the original ScreenBar and ScreenBar Plus step through eight settings, while the Halo, Pro and Halo 2 cross the same territory with stepless or finer control, and the Max narrows the top of the range to 6000 K.

CRI — published as Ra, and on some models alongside Rf — describes how accurately the source renders colour against a daylight reference, on a 0–100 scale. BenQ lists Ra ≥95 across its bars and adds Rf ≥96 on the Pro and Halo 2. Xiaomi publishes Ra 95; Baseus publishes Ra >95 on the i-Wok2; LYMAX publishes Ra ≥97 on the M6.

A wide colour-temperature range says nothing about colour accuracy, and a high CRI says nothing about tint. CRI matters most where colour is the work — illustration, model painting, textile or material matching — because a low-CRI source shifts how those colours read under the lamp. For typing, reading and general desk use the visible gap between Ra 90 and Ra 98 is small. If colour fidelity is the priority, it is also worth separating fixture colour from emitted colour: a warm-toned lamp is still a hardware finish, independent of the light it produces, as the desk lamp colour guide sets out.

Reading angle specs — mechanical tilt, beam geometry, cut-off

Angle numbers appear on almost every light bar spec sheet, and they mean at least three different things.

  • Mechanical rotation. How far the lamp body physically turns. Xiaomi publishes roughly 25° for the Mi bar; Baseus publishes 0–35° for the i-Wok2. This is a physical adjustment range.
  • Asymmetric beam geometry. The shape of the optical pattern. Quntis describes a 45° asymmetric design on the Focus 51 PRO+; Baseus describes a 45° optical direction on the i-Wok2. This is a property of the optics, describing where the light is shaped to go.
  • Optical cut-off / shielding angle. How the optics shield the upper edge of the beam from the screen. BenQ publishes an 18° cut-off on the Halo 2 and a 36° shielding angle on the Max.

Placing those into one "beam angle" column would compare a physical hinge to an optical pattern to a shielding figure. They are not interchangeable, and the one that most affects where light lands on a desk is the optical geometry, not the hinge range.

Asymmetric optics are a design method rather than a guarantee. The beam is shaped to project toward the desk instead of the panel, but the result depends on the angle the bar sits at, the screen's curvature and finish, and the mounting height. A visible band of light at the top of a display is a setup problem as often as a spec mismatch, which is why the tilt adjustment is worth checking before assuming the optics are at fault. Where a lamp needs to be aimed directly at the work, adjustable desk lamps with clamps and swing arms do the same task-lighting job through a different mounting logic.

Check price on Amazon

Automation specs — ambient dimming vs presence sensing

"Automatic" covers two separate features, and models carry one, both, or neither.

Ambient auto-dimming adjusts output to the surrounding room light. BenQ lists it across the ScreenBar family, including the original, the Plus, the first Halo, the Pro and the Halo 2, and the Max. Quntis lists an ambient sensor on the Focus 51 PRO+.

Presence sensing switches the lamp on or off as someone approaches or leaves. The ScreenBar Pro and Halo 2 include it, and the Max uses a 24 GHz mmWave sensor for the same job. LYMAX documents 24 GHz presence sensing on the ScreenMate M6.

The Xiaomi Mi bar has neither. Its 2.4 GHz puck remote controls brightness and colour temperature manually, and no ambient or presence automation is published for it. Baseus does not publish an ambient sensor on the i-Wok2 either, which is worth noting because third-party coverage sometimes assigns auto-dimming to that model.

The distinction matters at the desk. Ambient dimming holds output steady as the room shifts between afternoon and evening; presence sensing handles the lamp when you walk away. How you adjust it is a third variable entirely: the original ScreenBar and the Pro use touch controls on the bar, the Plus uses a wired desktop dial, the Halo and Halo 2 use a wireless controller, and the Halo 2's controller recharges rather than taking AAA cells. A remote that can be misplaced or run flat is a control decision, not a light-quality one.

Power specs — connector type is not a power rating

Bars in this category draw anywhere from 5 W to 15 W over USB, and one model steps outside USB entirely.

  • Original ScreenBar, ScreenBar Plus, Xiaomi Mi bar, Quntis Focus 51 PRO+ and Baseus i-Wok2: 5 V / 1 A, maximum 5 W
  • First-generation ScreenBar Halo: 5 V / maximum 1.3 A, maximum 6.5 W
  • ScreenBar Pro: USB-C, 5 V / maximum 1.7 A, maximum 8.5 W
  • ScreenBar Halo 2: USB-C, 5 V / maximum 3 A, maximum 15 W
  • ScreenBar Max: dedicated 100–240 V AC adapter, maximum 36 W

Two consequences follow. First, a USB-C connector shape does not guarantee a USB-C power level — the Pro and Halo 2 both use USB-C, but the Halo 2 asks for nearly twice the amperage. Second, monitor USB ports are not uniform: a port rated for 1 A may not supply a bar that wants 3 A, and the Max does not run from a monitor port at all. The 5 W bars on this list are the easiest to power from a spare port; the 15 W Halo 2 and the AC-driven Max need their own supply. Where the lamp is one layer of a wider desk lighting and LED setup, it is worth mapping the power sources before choosing the bar.

Mounting specs — thickness, curvature and rear geometry

Mounting is where a bar quietly fails to fit, and three numbers decide it.

Monitor thickness. The original ScreenBar supports 10–30 mm; the Plus lists 10.1–30.5 mm; the first Halo takes flat monitors from 7–60 mm and curved monitors from 16–38 mm; the Pro supports 4.3–65 mm; the Halo 2 supports 4.3–60 mm; the Xiaomi bar states support up to 32 mm.

Curvature radius. BenQ specifies curved compatibility on the Pro and the Halo 2 within a 1000R–1800R range. A tighter curve than that is not a supported fit, however often such a bar may have been physically clamped onto it.

Mounting type. Most bars clamp to the top bezel of the monitor. The ScreenBar Max is the exception: it clamps to the desk, up to 60 mm of desk thickness, and stands in front of the display rather than sitting on it. That changes the fit criterion completely — for the Max, monitor thickness and curvature are irrelevant because nothing attaches to the panel.

Rear-housing shape sits outside all three numbers. A display with a deep or unusually shaped centre bulge can interfere with a counterweighted clip even when the thickness figure is within range, which is why a published range is a starting point rather than a guarantee. Webcam placement competes for the same top edge, and on a dual-display desk a single bar across the centre can cover both screens. Where the monitor sits on an arm rather than its own stand, the VESA and monitor arm compatibility guide covers how the mounting geometry works out.

Check price on Amazon

Flicker specs — what is declared, not what is measured

Flicker sits apart from the other specs because the comparable figure is rarely on the sheet. BenQ describes its bars as flicker-free across the family, and the Max's documentation references compliance with flicker criteria and IEEE PAR1789-related standard language. Xiaomi, Quntis, Baseus and LYMAX all claim flicker-free output as well.

What is not published alongside those claims is the pulse-width-modulation frequency and modulation depth behind them — the two figures that would let one model's flicker behaviour be lined up against another's. A flicker-free statement is a manufacturer claim about the product; it is not a common unit that compares across brands, the way lux or CRI can. A single reported case of one unit developing flicker after extended use describes that sample and not a measured property of the model. Treat flicker as a declared characteristic: present on the sheet, not comparable in the way output figures are.

Matching the spec sheet to your setup

With the specs decoded, the choice narrows to what the desk actually needs.

  • Paper, notebooks or a drawing surface in the work area → coverage at 500 lux is the deciding figure. The 85 × 50 cm footprint of the Pro and Halo 2 covers a keyboard, mouse and a notebook; the Max's 135 × 58 cm reaches across two displays.
  • Colour-critical work → CRI, not colour temperature. Ra ≥95 with Rf ≥96 is the high end of what this category publishes, and colour work usually benefits from a lamp you can aim, so a clamp lamp may fit better than a bar.
  • A single thin or curved monitor → thickness and curvature fit. The Pro (4.3–65 mm) and Halo 2 (4.3–60 mm) accept the thinnest modern panels and specify 1000R–1800R curvature; the older BenQ generation is narrower at 30–38 mm on curved panels.
  • A dual-display desk → the Max's desk-clamp design was built for it. A single standard bar across two monitors is viable, but it depends on the two displays sitting at the same height and depth.
  • Minimal controls or a battery-free controller → controller type varies. The Halo 2 controller recharges, the first Halo's runs on AAA cells, Xiaomi relies on a puck, and the original ScreenBar and the Pro use on-bar touch controls.
  • A single spare USB port → match the port to the draw. The 5 W generation is the least demanding; the Halo 2 wants 15 W and the Max needs its own AC adapter.
  • A first bar on a budget → the base specs are the honest shortlist. Xiaomi publishes 270 lumens, 2700–6500 K and Ra 95 with no automation; Baseus publishes 160 lumens, Ra >95 and a touch panel with memory. Neither reaches the coverage or output figures at the top of the category, and both list their output without a measurement distance, so treat those numbers as source figures rather than desk-illumination figures.

Check price on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

If a light bar is being chosen alongside a monitor arm or a riser, the constraints interact: an arm frees the desk surface a riser would occupy, and a desk-clamp bar like the Max occupies neither. The best monitor stands comparison covers how the two approaches trade off.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Does a monitor light bar reduce eye strain?

Not in any way a spec sheet can describe. What a light bar's specifications cover is light output, coverage area, colour accuracy, optical shielding and electrical behaviour. Those figures tell you how much light reaches the work surface, where it lands and how the lamp runs — which is what can be compared between models and set up on a desk.

Q: Is a higher lux number always the brighter bar?

No, because the distance has to match. BenQ publishes its older bars at 45 cm, the Pro and Halo 2 at 50 cm, and the Max at 71 cm, while Quntis and LYMAX list lux figures without a distance attached at all. A lux value taken closer to the lamp reads higher than one taken further away, so raw figures across brands are not a brightness ranking.

Q: What is the difference between CRI and colour temperature?

Colour temperature (Kelvin) is the warm-to-cool tint of the light, typically 2700 K to 6500 K here. CRI (Ra, and sometimes Rf) is how accurately the source renders colour on a 0–100 scale — Ra ≥95 is the high end of this category. A wide colour-temperature range says nothing about colour accuracy, and a high CRI says nothing about tint.

Q: Can a light bar run from a monitor's USB port?

Sometimes. The 5 W generation — the original ScreenBar, Plus, Xiaomi, Quntis and Baseus — is the easiest to power from a spare port. The Halo 2 draws up to 15 W over 5 V / 3 A, and the ScreenBar Max uses a dedicated 100–240 V AC adapter at up to 36 W, so it does not run from USB at all. Check the port's rated output before assuming it will supply the lamp.

Q: Will a light bar fit a curved or ultrawide monitor?

It depends on the published range. BenQ specifies curved compatibility on the Pro and Halo 2 within 1000R–1800R, with thickness ranges of 4.3–65 mm and 4.3–60 mm respectively. The first-generation Halo takes curved panels from 16–38 mm. The Max sidesteps the question entirely by clamping to the desk instead of the monitor.

Q: Do ambient auto-dimming and presence sensing do the same thing?

No. Ambient auto-dimming adjusts output to the room's existing light, and appears across the BenQ range and on the Quntis Focus 51 PRO+. Presence sensing switches the lamp on or off as someone approaches or leaves, and is published on the Pro, the Halo 2, the Max and the LYMAX M6. The Xiaomi Mi bar and the Baseus i-Wok2 carry neither.

Conclusion

The specs that actually decide a monitor light bar are the unglamorous ones. Lux only means something with a distance attached. Coverage describes a footprint, not a brightness. CRI and colour temperature measure unrelated properties. Angle figures cover at least three different things — a hinge, an optical pattern, a shielding figure. Automation splits into ambient dimming and presence sensing. And a connector shape is not a power rating. Read that way, the numbers on a spec sheet become the basis for comparison rather than a set of claims to sort through.

For most single-monitor desks, the practical shortlist lands on the current BenQ generation: the Pro for its 85 × 50 cm coverage and presence sensing at 8.5 W, or the Halo 2 for the same footprint with rear ambient light and a rechargeable controller at 15 W. Budget-first setups are served by the Xiaomi bar at 270 lumens and Ra 95, or the Baseus i-Wok2 at 160 lumens with a touch panel — both without automation and both published without a measurement distance. Dual-display desks are the one case where the desk-clamp Max is the obvious match, since it is the only model here that does not attach to a panel at all.

From here, the useful next reads are the best monitor light bars comparison for current picks across the range, the dual monitor arm guide if the displays are mounted rather than on their stands, and the complete desk setup guide for how task lighting fits into a full build.

→ Check the current price of the BenQ ScreenBar Halo 2 on Amazon

Share:

Article Topics

#monitor light bar for eye strain

You might also like